A couple from near Bermagui

John Power

A couple from near Bermagui

Postby John Power » 04 Jun 2021, 12:28

G'day!

I'm new to film and large format, enjoying it very much.

I've had my Horseman rail camera for a few weeks now, and ran a few sheets of colour through this past weekend on the Southern NSW coast.

Here is Camel Rock post sunset on Portra 160 and Horsehead rock pre-sunrise on Ektar 100 (both 4x5). Gear was a Horseman L45, Schneider Symmar S 135mm, benro tripod. Bath towel as dark sheet was a bit of a nightmare in the wind!

ImageCamel Rock post sunset by J P, on Flickr

ImageHorse head rock with Ektar by J P, on Flickr

From memory the Camel rock was 8 seconds at F22, Horsehead rock 15 or so at F22. Developed in a Paterson tank with Kodak flexicolor, scanned (through the back, ha! still lots to learn) in an Epson V850
Last edited by John Power on 05 Jun 2021, 21:16, edited 1 time in total.

Mick Fagan

Re: A couple from near Bermagui

Postby Mick Fagan » 05 Jun 2021, 12:08

John, welcome to the forum as well as large format.

I only see two black boxes, no images. Have you reduced them in size for web display, or are you using a link? If you are using a link, I don't think it's working.

Mick.

Oscar
Site Admin

Postby Oscar » 05 Jun 2021, 12:59

Same for me, sorry to say. Looking forward to seeing new images from a new member :)

John Power

Postby John Power » 05 Jun 2021, 21:17

Mick, Oscar, thanks for your interest! And thanks for letting me know the original effort didnt work... I attached rather than using the BBCode, which seems to have worked well.

I have some other shots that I'll post up too... Keen for feedback from experienced folk!

Walter Glover

Postby Walter Glover » 07 Jun 2021, 03:14

Welcome and well done John,

It is a bold and brave challenge to take on shots like these with sunlit surf foam and silhouetted masses of textured stone. But to do it with the tonal range limitations of colour film is heroic.